Reproduction Guidelines

Camera, Lens, Flash

Both the digitization center at St. Gall and the one at Geneva have been equipped since October 2012 with Hasselblad model H4D-50MS (50 Megapixel, Multi-Shot) cameras. We normally use a Hasselblad HC Macro 4/120 mm II lens; for manuscripts with larger page dimensions we use an HC 2,8/80 mm lens. Both cameras are equipped with Elinchrom BRX 250 flash systems.

Previous Cameras:

  • May 2005 – September 2008: Canon digital SLR camera, model EOS-1Ds Mark II (16.7 Megapixel)
  • October 2008 –  September 2012: Hasselblad medium format camera, Model H3DII-31 (31 Megapixel) 

TIFF Master Image Files

Proprietary RAW files created by the digital cameras are converted into TIFF files. These master files are archived in three copies at different locations and are validated annually (for additional information see Data Security). The uncompressed TIFF files are created with a resolution of at least 300 ppi and a color depth of 8 bits and include all data required for color management. 

  TIFF Files Image sensor 300 ppi 600 ppi
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark II ~ 48 MB 3328 x 4992 28.2 x 42.3 cm 14.1 x 21.1 cm
Hasselblad H3DII 31 ~100 MB 4872 x 6496 41.2 x 55.0 cm 20.6 x 27.5 cm
Hasselblad H4D-50MS (8 bit / 16 bit*) ~150 MB / 300 MB 6132 x 8176 51.9 x 69.2 cm 26.0 x 34.6 cm
* since April 2016

TIFF files may be ordered from the respective libraries for reproduction (see Contact – Manuscript Library or Collection).

JPEG 2000 Files

For the web application viewer and for the image server, TIFF files are converted into JPEG 2000 files with a size of roughly 5 MB. The JPEG 2000 standard is an update of the JPEG standard, and in comparison to the earlier standard the new one offers better compression (based on Wavelet technology) as well as higher derivative image quality. JPEG 2000 files contain more information than normal JPEG files but are smaller with regard to file size. A great advantage of this JPEG standard is that it enables the display of the same image in a variety of resolutions and sizes.

Consulting

In the area of new technologies and image file standards, e-codices has benefitted greatly from the rich in-depth knowledge and experience of the Digital Humanities Lab at the University of Basel.

Directives pour la reproduction

Appareils photo, objectifs et flash

Depuis octobre 2012, les centres de numérisation à Saint-Gall et à Genève sont tous deux équipés d'un appareil photo Hasselblad, Modèle H4D-50MS (50 Megapixel, Multi-Shot-Technologie). Nous utilisons généralement un objectif Hasselblad HC Macro 4/120 mm-II, mais pour les grands manuscrits nous employons surtout le HC 2,8/80 mm. Pour cela, nous utilisons le système de flash Elinchrom BRX 250.

Anciens appareils photo:

  • Mai 2005 – Septembre 2008: appareil photo reflex de Canon, Modèle EOS-1Ds Mark II (16.7 Megapixel)
  • Octobre 2008 – Septembre 2012: appareil photo Hasselblad, Modèle H3DII-31 (31 Megapixel et technologie "multhi-shot")

Les fichiers Master des images en TIFF

Les données RAW sont converties en données TIFF. Ces fichiers en format TIFF sont archivés en trois exemplaires, dans trois lieux différents, et sont contrôlés chaque année (pour plus d'informations, voir sauvegarde des données). Les fichiers TIFF non compressés sont créés dans une résolution minimale de 300 ppi et une intensité de couleur de 8 bits et contiennent toutes les informations nécessaires à la gestion des couleurs.

 

  Fichiers TIFF Taille du capteur 300 ppi 600 ppi
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark II ~ 48 MB 3328 x 4992 28.2 x 42.3 cm 14.1 x 21.1 cm
Hasselblad H3DII 31 ~100 MB 4872 x 6496 41.2 x 55.0 cm 20.6 x 27.5 cm
Hasselblad H4D-50MS (8 bit / 16 bit*) ~150 MB / 300 MB 6132 x 8176 51.9 x 69.2 cm 26.0 x 34.6 cm
* depuis avril 2016

Pour les reproductions, des fichiers TIFF peuvent être commandés dans les bibliothèques respectives (voir Contact - bibliothèque ou collection).

Fichiers JPEG2000

Les fichiers TIFF sont convertis en fichiers JPEG2000 d'environ 5 Mo pour la visionneuse de l'application Web et pour le serveur d'images. Le standard JPEG2000 est une mise à jour de la norme JPEG et, en comparaison avec celui-ci, il offre une meilleure compression (qui est basée sur la technologie Wavelet) et aussi une plus haute qualité de dérivés d'image. Les fichiers JPEG2000 contiennent plus d'informations que les fichiers JPEG standards et sont plus petits en termes de taille de fichier. Un autre avantage majeur de la norme JPEG2000 est la possibilité d'afficher la même image dans différentes résolutions et tailles.

Conseil

Dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies et des standards des données d'images, e-codices peut bénéficier des vastes connaissances et de l'expérience du Digital Humanities Lab de l'Université de Bâle.