Current Sub-projects

Hebrew Manuscript Library of Switzerland



Start: September 2018
Financed by: Susanne & René Braginsky Foundation
Project director: Dr. Justine Isserles

Description: Several hundred Hebrew manuscripts are preserved in Switzerland today in various private and public collections. The Hebrew Manuscript Library in Switzerland project aims to shed light on a selection of medieval and pre-modern Hebrew manuscripts from the cities of Basel, Bern, Geneva, St Gallen and Zurich, chosen to be highlighted predominately for their rarity in content, but also for their codicological, palaeographical and decorative features. The digitization and scholarly descriptions of these manuscripts on e-codices will undoubtedly help to establish the importance of these precious witnesses from Swiss collections, many of which have been unacknowledged until now. This project is generously supported by the Susanne & René Braginsky Foundation.

Manuscripts list

Fragmenta Bongarsiana



Start: March 2018
Financed by: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Description: Together with the Burgerbibliothek Bern, we have facilitated the digitization of approximately 150 fragments of parchment. Most of these are from the collection of Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), who had a philological interest in rare texts, as did Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) and especially Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), with whom Bongars was closely associated. Jacques Bongars and Pierre Daniel are among the earliest scholars to have shown an interest in fragments. The Bernese fragment collection is unique because it contains not only manuscript waste, but also a large number of manuscripts that have been transmitted in incomplete form, for example, with only a single quire or a part thereof to have survived. In the course of making these texts accessible through e-codices, many fragments were identified for the first time. Most of these were known texts or authors, but some spectacular new discoveries were made of previously unknown texts on biblical exegesis from the Carolingian epoch. In the coming years, the collection will be published in parallel in e-codices and in Fragmentarium.

Manuscripts list

Manuscripts from the Carthusian monastery of Basel



Start: Summer 2017

Description: The Carthusian monastery of St. Margarethental was founded in 1401 in Kleinbasel (Lesser Basel); until the Reformation it was an important spiritual and intellectual center whose influence extended far beyond the city of Basel. At the beginning of the 16th century its library contained about 2,000 books, almost all of which became the property of the university after the dissolution of the monastery and constituted the substantive basis of the early university library. Among these books are more than 600 manuscripts, which are currently in the process of being catalogued and made accessible by the University Library Basel. In addition, a scholarly relevant selection of these manuscripts is being digitized, among them the German manuscripts from the the library of the lay brothers as well as the manuscripts containing texts by the Carthusians of Basel.

Manuscripts list

Treasures from small collections



Start: January 2013

Description: The majority of Swiss manuscripts is held in larger collections, mostly in public and ecclesiastical institutions. It is easy to forget that some of the most important sources shaping the identity of Switzerland are found in collections that hold only a few manuscripts. e-codices has taken it upon itself to provide digital access to these important treasures from small collections, the originals of which are often not available to the general public.

Manuscripts list

e-codices 2017-2020



Start: January 2017
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: Continued support from the swissuniversities program “Scientific Information” will ensure the sustainability of e-codices and its transformation from a project to an established service. In addition, it will ensure the continued improvement of technical infrastructure. Such ongoing development is necessary in order to contribute to essential technical developments in the area of interoperability in the coming years. Finally, more sub-projects will be initiated in order to publish online by 2020 most of those Swiss manuscripts that, from a current point of view, are relevant to research.

Manuscripts list

The Bodmer autograph collection



Start: December 2015

Description: As part of the ongoing digitization of its holdings, the Martin Bodmer Foundation, together with e-codices, is providing access to a new part of its collection: modern and contemporary autographs (16th-20th century). These are texts in the author's own handwriting; they can, but need not be, signed by the author. The collection, which took over half a century to compile, contains several thousand documents; among them are complete manuscripts of literary and scientific works, articles and letters by literary figures, scientists and politicians, as well as numerous exceptional or still unpublished pieces. In addition, there are numerous documents that were collected at the beginning of the 20th century by the famous writer Stefan Zweig, himself a great collector of autographs.

Manuscripts list

Braginsky collection on e-codices



Start: December 2014
Financed by: Susanne et René Braginsky Foundation

Description: The collection of Hebrew manuscripts of the Zurich collector René Braginsky is generally considered to be one of the largest private collections of Hebrew manuscripts in the world. It also contains a fair number of fine early printed books. The collection does not only contain codices from before and after the invention of printing, but also several hundred illuminated marriage contracts and Esther scrolls. In 2009, some hundred highlights from the collection were curated into a traveling exhibition, which was shown in Amsterdam, New York, Jerusalem, Zurich, and Berlin. Since 2014 e-codices is making documents of the collection online available. The project is generously supported by the René and Susanne Braginsky Foundation.

Manuscripts list

Laufende Teilprojekte

Hebräische Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz



Beginn: September 2018
Finanziert durch: Susanne & René Braginsky Stiftung
Projektleitung: Dr. Justine Isserles

Beschreibung: Schweizweit werden heute mehrere hundert hebräische Handschriften in verschiedenen privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen aufbewahrt. Das Projekt Hebräische Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz bemüht sich darum, Licht auf eine Auswahl mittelalterlicher und vormoderner hebräischer Handschriften aus Basel, Bern, Genf, St. Gallen und Zürich zu werfen, die hauptsächlich aufgrund ihres seltenen Inhalts, aber auch aufgrund ihrer kodikologischen, paläographischen und dekorativen Eigenschaften ausgewählt wurden. Die Digitalisierung sowie die wissenschaftlichen Beschreibungen dieser Handschriften auf e-codices werden zweifellos dazu beitragen, die Bedeutung dieser wertvollen, bis anhin unbekannten Textzeugen aus Schweizer Sammlungen zu unterstreichen. Dieses Projekt wird von der Susanne & René Braginsky Stiftung grosszügig unterstützt.

Liste der Handschriften

Fragmenta Bongarsiana



Beginn: März 2018
Finanziert durch: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Beschreibung: In Zusammenarbeit mit der Burgerbibliothek Bern wurde die Digitalisierung von 150 Pergamentfragmenten ermöglicht. Die meisten derselben stammen aus der Sammlung Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), der wie Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) und besonders Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), mit welchem Bongars besonders stark verbunden war, ein philologisches Interesse an selten überlieferten Texten besass. Jacques Bongars und Pierre Daniel gehörten zu den ersten Gelehrten, die sich für Fragmente interessierten. Aus diesem Grunde ist die Berner Fragmentensammlung einmalig, da sie nicht nur aus Makulatur besteht, sondern auch aus einer großen Anzahl unvollständig überlieferten Handschriften, von denen zum Beispiel nur eine einzelne Lage oder ein Teil davon gesammelt wurde. Im Rahmen der Erschliessung für e-codices konnten zahlreiche Fragmente erstmals identifiziert werden. Meistens handelt es sich dabei um bekannte Texte bzw. Autoren, es gelangen aber auch spektakuläre Neufunde von bislang gänzlich unbekannten Texten zur Bibelexegese aus karolingischer Zeit. Die Sammlung wird in den nächsten Jahren parallel auf e-codices und Fragmentarium veröffentlicht.

Liste der Handschriften

Handschriften der Kartause Basel



Beginn: Sommer 2017

Beschreibung: Die Kartause St. Margarethental wurde 1401 in Kleinbasel gegründet und war bis zur Reformation ein bedeutendes geistliches und intellektuelles Zentrum mit Ausstrahlung weit über Basel hinaus. Die Bibliothek umfasste zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts rund 2.000 Bücher, die nach der Aufhebung des Klosters nahezu vollständig in Besitz der Universität kamen und einen bedeutenden Grundstock der frühen Universitätsbibliothek bildeten. Darunter sind über 600 Handschriften, die gegenwärtig an der UB Basel erschlossen werden. Eine wissenschaftlich relevante Auswahl aus diesen Handschriften wird auch digitalisiert, darunter die deutschen Handschriften aus der Bibliothek der Laienbrüder sowie die Handschriften mit Texten der Basler Kartäuser.

Liste der Handschriften

Schätze aus kleinen Sammlungen



Beginn: Januar 2013 

Beschreibung: Der grösste Teil der Handschriften der Schweiz befinden sich in grösseren Sammlungen, vor allem in öffentlichen und kirchlichen Institutionen. Leicht wird dabei vergessen, dass einige der wichtigsten Quellen, die die Identität der Schweiz bestimmen, in Sammlungen liegen, die nur wenige Handschriften aufbewahren. e-codices hat sich zum Auftrag gemacht, diese bedeutenden Schätze aus kleinen Sammlungen, die im Original häufig der Öffentlichkeit nicht zugänglich sind, digital zu erschliessen.

Liste der Handschriften

e-codices 2017-2020



Beginn: Januar 2017

Beschreibung: Die anhaltende Unterstützung des Programms „Wissenschaftliche Information‟ von swissuniversities wird die Verstetigung und Überführung von einem Projekt zu einem etablierten Service ermöglichen. Ferner soll die technische Infrastruktur weiter verbessert werden. Diese Weiterentwicklung wird als notwendig erachtet, um die grundlegenden technischen Entwicklungen der kommenden Jahre im Bereich der Interoperabilität mitzugestalten. Schliesslich werden weitere Teilprojekte aufgebaut, um bis 2020 die meisten aus der heutigen Sicht als forschungsrelevant geltenden Handschriften der Schweiz online zu publizieren.

Liste der Handschriften

Die Autographensammlung Bodmer



Beginn: Dezember 2015

Beschreibung: Die Fondation Martin Bodmer stellt im Rahmen der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung ihrer Sammlung zusammen mit e-codices einen neuen Teil ihrer Sammlung bereit: die modernen und zeitgenössischen Autographe (16.-20. Jahrhundert). Diese Sammlung, die während eines halben Jahrhunderts zusammengeführt wurde, enthält mehrere tausend Dokumente, unter anderem vollständige Handschriften literarischer oder wissenschaftlicher Werke, Artikel oder Briefe von Literaten, Wissenschaftlern oder Politikern sowie zahlreiche bemerkenswerte oder noch unveröffentlichte Stücke. Ebenso findet man zahlreiche Dokumente, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts vom berühmten Schriftsteller Stefan Zweig, selbst grosser Autographensammler, zusammengetragen wurden.

Liste der Handschriften

Die Braginsky Sammlung auf e-codices



Beginn: Dezember 2014
Finanziert durch: Susanne und René Braginsky Foundation

Beschreibung: Die Sammlung hebräischer Handschriften des Zürcher Sammlers René Braginsky wird allgemein als eine der weltweit grössten privaten Sammlungen von hebräischen Handschriften angesehen. Sie enthält auch eine schöne Anzahl von erlesenen Frühdrucken. Die Sammlung umfasst nicht nur Handschriften, die vor und nach der Entstehung des Buchdrucks geschrieben wurden, sondern auch einige hundert illuminierte Heiratsurkunden und Esther-Rollen. 2009 wurden einige hundert Glanzstücke der Sammlung in einer Wanderausstellung in Amsterdam, New York, Jerusalem, Zürich und Berlin ausgestellt. Seit 2014 werden Dokumente dieser Sammlung auf e-codices publiziert. Das Projekt wird grosszügig unterstützt von der René und Susanne Braginsky Foundation.

Liste der Handschriften