Codices Electronici AG

Codices Electronici AG is a company located in Fribourg specializing in the digitization of valuable documents, especially medieval and early modern manuscripts.

It operates two digitization centers in Switzerland. The St. Gall digitization center has been located since 2005 in the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The Geneva digitization center, in operation since 2013, digitizes mainly manuscripts, incunabula, early print materials, and autograph manuscripts from western Switzerland and is located at the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny.

Codices Electronici AG has cooperated since 2005 with e-codices – Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland. It manages all contractual agreements (digitization contracts, borrowing and deposit agreements, online publication contracts, compensation agreements, and cooperative contracts with libraries and private collections) and is responsible for performing the actual work of digitization in the digitization studios especially set up for this project. It thus facilitates the digitization of valuable documents held by libraries that do not themselves own the necessary equipment and facilities.

Codices Electronici AG is not profit-oriented.

 

President of the  Governing Board: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, Fribourg

Member of the Governing Board: Prof. Dr. Ernst Tremp, St. Gallen and Fribourg

Account Auditor: Core Partner AG, Düdingen

 

Contact Address: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, chemin des Maggenberg 5, 1700 Fribourg, Switzerland

 


Urs Baumann (Photograph) in the St. Gall Digitization Center

Both digitization centers are equipped with “Graz Model” camera tables. Camera: Hasselblad H4D-50MS (50 Megapixel, multi-shot technology), Lens: HC Macro 4/120 mm-II and HC 2,8/80 mm. Flash system: Elinchrome.

 


Naomi Wenger (Photograph) in the Geneva Digitalization Center

The center at the Fondation Martin Bodmer was established in 2013 and mainly servers digitization needs in western Switzerland. Two photographers work in each of the two digitization centers. They are advised and supported by the conservators, restoration specialists and libraries at the respective hosting institutions. They also receive administrative and technical support from the e-codices Team at the University of Fribourg.

Codices Electronici AG

Codex Electronici AG est une société basée à Fribourg, spécialisée dans la numérisation de documents de valeur, en particulier des manuscrits médiévaux et modernes.

Elle exploite deux centres de numérisation en Suisse. Le centre de numérisation de Saint-Gall se trouve depuis 2005 dans la bibliothèque abbatiale de Saint-Gall, tandis que le centre de numérisation de Genève numérisant depuis 2013 tous les manuscrits, les incunables, les imprimés anciens et les autographes de l'ouest de la Suisse est situé dans les locaux de la Fondation Martin Bodmer à Cologny.

La Codices Electronici AG coopère depuis 2005 avec e-codices - Bibliothèque virtuelle des manuscrits de Suisse et règle toutes les ententes contractuelles (contrats de numérisation, contrats de prêt et de dépôt, contrats de mise à disposition, accord de prestations et accords de collaboration avec les bibliothèques et les collections privées) et prend en charge la mise en œuvre effective de la numérisation dans les centres de numérisation spécialement aménagés pour le projet. Ainsi, elle permet la numérisation des précieux documents provenant de bibliothèques et collections qui ne possèdent pas l'équipement nécessaire pour numériser eux-mêmes leurs documents.

La Codices Electronici AG n'est pas une société à but lucratif.

 

Président du Conseil d'administration: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, Fribourg-en-Nuithonie.

Membre du conseil d'administration: Prof. Dr. Ernst Tremp, St. Gall et Fribourg-en-Nuithonie.

Vérification des comptes: Core Partner AG, Düdingen.

 

Adresse de contact: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, chemin des Maggenberg 5, 1700 Fribourg

 


Urs Baumann (photographe) dans le centre de numérisation de Saint-Gall

Les deux centres de numérisation sont équipés d'une table photographique "Grazer Kameratisch". Appareil photo: Hasselblad H4D-50MS (50 mégapixels, technologie multi-shot). Objectif: HC Macro 4/120 mm-II et HC 2,8 / 80 mm. Système de flash: Elinchrom.

 


Naomi Wenger (photographe) dans le centre de numérisation de Genève

Le centre de numérisation de la Fondation Martin Bodmer a été fondé en 2013 et soutient principalement la numérisation dans la Suisse occidentale. Deux photographes travaillent dans les deux centres de numérisation. Ils collaborent avec des conservateurs, des restaurateurs et des bibliothèques de leur hébergement respectif. Ils reçoivent le soutien administratif et technique de l'équipe e-codices à l'Université de Fribourg.