Documents: 104, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Manuscripts from the Carthusian monastery of Basel

summer 2017

Status: In progress

Financed by: University Library Basel

Description: The Carthusian monastery of St. Margarethental was founded in 1401 in Kleinbasel (Lesser Basel); until the Reformation it was an important spiritual and intellectual center whose influence extended far beyond the city of Basel. At the beginning of the 16th century its library contained about 2,000 books, almost all of which became the property of the university after the dissolution of the monastery and constituted the substantive basis of the early university library. Among these books are more than 600 manuscripts, which are currently in the process of being catalogued and made accessible by the University Library Basel. In addition, a scholarly relevant selection of these manuscripts is being digitized, among them the German manuscripts from the the library of the lay brothers as well as the manuscripts containing texts by the Carthusians of Basel.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt, Klosterarchiv, Kartaus L
Paper · 380 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery in Basel · ca. 1430-1520
Liber benefactorum

This Liber benefactorum, the book of benefactors of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, was written gradually between the 1430s and the 1520s. The main part of the manuscript, a calendar created in the early 15th century, contains the names of over 800 benefactors. The manuscript was designed from the beginning as a Liber benefactorum and has close ties to an annal from the Basel charterhouse that was written during the tenure of Prior Heinrich Arnoldi (StABS, Klosterarchiv Kartaus N). (pla)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 14
Parchment · 312 ff. · 28-29 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Thomas Aquinas, Summa theologiae (prima pars)

This meticulously executed manuscript contains the first part of Thomas Aquinas’s Summa theologiae, one of the Scholastic’s main works; it is from the library of Johannes de Lapide, Carthusian monk in Basel. The quires consist of paper and parchment in regular alteration; the proem begins with an ornamental page decorated with gold with a Q-initial on gold leaf, scroll ornamentation with flowers and berries in the margins, and a decorated intercolumnium. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Paper · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Postil on Genesis and Exodus, written in 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 quarter- to half-page colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 2-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Paper · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Postil on Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy, written in 1397 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 23 mostly half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Paper · 210 ff. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Postil on Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Esdras and Job, written in 1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 58 half-page, partly or entirely colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Paper · 151 ff. · 30.5-31.5 x 22-22.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Postil on Kings and Esther, written in 1400-1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 single-column, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Paper · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21.5-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Postil on Jeremiah, Daniel, Maccabees and Judith, written in 1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 53 half- to whole-page, partly framed colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Paper · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · probably 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postil on Isaiah and the Twelve Minor Prophets, probably written between 1393 and 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with two schematic drawings of the sun dial that illustrates the miracle of the healing of Hezekiah, This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which A II 1-5 and 10-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Paper · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Postil on the Gospel of Matthew and on the treatise on chess by Jacobus de Cessolis, written in 1392 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 13 single-column colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6 and ‬11-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Paper · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postil on the Gospels of John, Luke and Mark as well as on Tobias and Baruch, written in 1392-1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 3 whole-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 and ‬12-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Paper · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postil on the Acts of the Apostles, on the Apocalypse, and on the canonical letters, written in 1405-1407 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 14 half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 and 13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Paper · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postil on the Pauline epistles, written in 1413-1415 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which the richly illustrated volumes A II 1-6 and 10-12 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Paper · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · last quarter of the 15th century
Ludwig Moser: “Goldenes Ave Maria“ (text and adaptation)

These two individual leaves transmit both stanzas of the “Goldenes Ave Maria“: once as a song with glosses “Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), a second time in an adaptation by the Carthusian Ludwig Moser of Basel (A III 52b). Both texts probably were written by him in the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Paper · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This codex from the holdings of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains as a first part a treatise about the appropriate penance for various transgressions against commandments and sacraments. A second part consists of a collection of Latin hymns with an interlinear translation into German, as well as a loose translation into German as continuous text, in part also combined with a short interpretation. This is followed by texts about the mass and several Opuscula by Gregory of Nazianzus, a letter by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide about the qualities of a good priest, and a brief text by Heinrich Arnoldi about a sermon on Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Paper · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

This undecorated paper volume from the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains theological Disputationes or Quaestiones by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. These discussions, which, according to a note on folio 1r, took place in Paris in the presence and at the instigation of Heynlin, were copied by different hands, including that of Heynlin himself. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Paper · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · around 1510
Statutes of the lay brothers of the Carthusian order

Around 1510, Georg Carpentarius, Carthusian of Basel, translated the statutes of his order’s lay brothers from Latin into German. At the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, the text was considered an autograph by the translator. It was held in the library of the lay brothers. (stu)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Paper · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery in Basel · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

This volume was written in 1489 by Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505). Ambrosius, originally from Füssen, enrolled at the University of Basel in 1468/69 and, as can be proven, wrote several mostly liturgical books between 1484 and 1492 at the Carthusian Monastery in that city. Among them is this Epithalamium (bridal or wedding song) for Mary. Possibly this is the same Ambrosius Alantsee who is attested as prior of St. Mang's Abbey in Füssen in 1491. (stu)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Parchment and paper · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Basel · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Henricus Arnoldi)

This composite manuscript from the Carthusian monastery of Basel contains — partly handwritten and partly printed — primarily texts of devotional and spiritual content. Author (and for the first part of the manuscript also the scribe) for the most part is Heinrich Arnoldi, Prior of the Carthusian monastery from 1449-1480. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Paper · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15th century
Composite manuscript (theological content)

This composite manuscript, property of the scholar and Carthusian monk Johannes Heynlin from Basel, consists of various handwritten and printed pieces of theological content: among them the treatise De saecularium religionibus by the Dominican and church reformer Johannes Nider, written in 1465 by a French scribe and annotated in the margin by Heynlin; or the text De miseria humanae conditionis by Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, one of the most important humanists of the Italian Renaissance. After Heynlin’s death, the volume became part of the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Documents: 104, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 103, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Handschriften der Kartause Basel

Sommer 2017

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: Universitätsbibliothek Basel

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die Kartause St. Margarethental wurde 1401 in Kleinbasel gegründet und war bis zur Reformation ein bedeutendes geistliches und intellektuelles Zentrum mit Ausstrahlung weit über Basel hinaus. Die Bibliothek umfasste zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts rund 2.000 Bücher, die nach der Aufhebung des Klosters nahezu vollständig in Besitz der Universität kamen und einen bedeutenden Grundstock der frühen Universitätsbibliothek bildeten. Darunter sind über 600 Handschriften, die gegenwärtig an der UB Basel erschlossen werden. Eine wissenschaftlich relevante Auswahl aus diesen Handschriften wird auch digitalisiert, darunter die deutschen Handschriften aus der Bibliothek der Laienbrüder sowie die Handschriften mit Texten der Basler Kartäuser.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt, Klosterarchiv, Kartaus L
Papier · 380 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · Kartause Basel · ca. 1430-1520
Liber benefactorum

Der Liber benefactorum, das Wohltäterbuch des Kartäuserklosters von Basel, ist sukzessive zwischen den 1430er und 1520er Jahren entstanden. Der Hauptteil der Handschrift, ein im frühen 15. Jh. angelegtes Kalendar, enthält die Namen von über 800 Wohltätern. Die Hs. ist bereits in ihrer Grundanlage als Liber benefactorum konzipiert und weist enge Verbindungen zu einem unter dem Priorat Heinrich Arnoldis entstandenen Jahrzeitbuch der Kartause Basel auf (StABS, Klosterarchiv Kartaus N). (pla)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 14
Pergament · 312 ff. · 28-29 x 21 cm · 3. Viertel 15. Jh.
Thomas von Aquin, Summa theologiae (prima pars)

Die sorgfältig gearbeitete Handschrift mit dem ersten Teil der Summa theologiae des Thomas von Aquin, eines der Hauptwerke des Scholastikers, stammt aus der Bibliothek des Basler Kartäusers Johannes de Lapide. Die Lagen bestehen in regelmässiger Abfolge aus Papier und Pergament; das Prooemium beginnt mit einer goldgeschmückten Zierseite mit Q-Initiale auf Blattgold, Randranken mit Blumen und Beeren und verziertem Interkolumnium. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Papier · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Postille zu Genesis und Exodus, geschrieben 1396 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 52 viertel- bis halbseitigen kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars „Postilla super totam Bibliam“ von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 2-‬6 und ‬10-‬13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Papier · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Postille zu Leviticus, Numeri und Deuteronomium, geschrieben 1397 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 23 vorwiegend halbseitigen, teilweise kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 und ‬10-‬13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Papier · 210 ff. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Postille zu Josua, Richter, Ruth, Esdra und Hiob, geschrieben 1401 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 58 halbseitigen, teilweise oder ganz kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 und ‬10-‬13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Papier · 151 ff. · 30.5-31.5 x 22-22.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Postille zu den Königen und Esther, geschrieben 1400-1401 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 52 einspaltigen, teilweise kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 und ‬10-‬13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Papier · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21.5-22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Postille zu Jeremias, Daniel, Makkabäer und Judith, geschrieben 1393 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 53 halb- bis ganzseitigen, teilweise gerahmten kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 und ‬10-‬13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Papier · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · vermutlich 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postille zu Josias und den zwölf kleinen Propheten, geschrieben vermutlich zwischen 1393 und 1396 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit zwei schematischen Zeichnungen der Sonnenuhr zum Wunder der Heilung Hiskias. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch A II 1-5 und 10-13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Papier · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Postille zum Matthäusevangelium und Jacobus' de Cessolis Schachtraktat, geschrieben 1392 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 13 einspaltigen kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-6 und ‬11-13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Papier · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postille zum Johannes-, Lukas- und Markusevangelium sowie zu Tobias und Baruch, geschrieben 1392-1393 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 3 ganzseitigen, zum Teil kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 und ‬12-13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Papier · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postille zu den Apostelakten, zur Apokalypse und den kanonischen Briefen, geschrieben 1405-1407 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf, ausgestattet mit 14 halbseitigen, zum Teil kolorierten Federzeichnungen. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen, reich illustrierten Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurden die Bände, zu denen auch ‬A II 1-6 und ‬10-‬11 und 13 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Papier · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postille zu den Paulusbriefen, geschrieben 1413-1415 vom Freiburger Priester Rüdiger Schopf. Die Handschrift ist Teil einer vielbändigen Abschrift des Bibelkommentars Postilla super totam Bibliam von Nikolaus von Lyra, welche der Weltgeistliche Rüdiger Schopf aus Memmingen in den Jahren 1392 bis 1415 für die Freiburger Kartause anlegte. 1430 wurde die Handschriftengruppe, zu der auch die reich illustrierten Bände A II 1-6 und 10-12 gehören, der Kartause Basel verkauft. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Mitte 15. Jahrhundert
Nycolaus de Lyra, Auslegung des Psalters, 1. Teil (Ps. 1-74)

Deutsche Übertragung der Psalmenpostille des Nikolaus von Lyra (gest. 1349), entstanden wohl noch zu dessen Lebzeiten. Der Psalmenkommentar, früher Heinrich von Mügeln zugeschrieben, stammt von einem historisch noch nicht nachgewiesenen Anonymus, dem sog. „Österreichischen Bibelübersetzer“. Er überträgt die Vorlage kürzend und mit Zusätzen versehen. Die Abschrift aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause datiert in die Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts, ihre Miniaturen gehören zu der Vullenhoe-Gruppe. (flr)

Online seit: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Papier · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Kartause Basel · 4. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert
Ludwig Moser: „Goldenes Ave Maria“ (Text und Bearbeitung)

Die zwei Einzelblätter überliefern beide Strophen des „Goldenes Ave Maria“: einmal in Form des Glossenlieds „Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), das zweite Mal in einer Überarbeitung des Basler Kartäusers Ludwig Moser (A III 52b). Beide Texte dürften von seiner Hand in der Kartause Basel geschrieben worden sein.  (stu)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Papier · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2. Hälfte 15. Jahrhundert
Theologischer Sammelband

Der Codex aus dem Bestand der Basler Kartause enthält in einem ersten Teil eine Abhandlung über die angemessene Busse für verschiedene Vergehen gegen Gebote und Sakramente. Ein zweiter Teil besteht aus einer Sammlung lateinischer Hymnen, die nebst einer deutschen Interlinearübersetzung auch mit einer losen deutschen Übersetzung als Fliesstext versehen sind, zum Teil kombiniert mit einer kurzen Auslegung. Im Anschluss daran finden sich Texte über die Messe und einige Opuscula Gregors von Nazianz, des Weiteren ein Brief von Johannes Heynlin de Lapide über die Eigenschaften eines guten Priesters sowie eine kleine Schrift von Heinrich Arnoldi über eine Marienpredigt. (mue)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Papier · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3. Viertel 15. Jahrhundert
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

Der schmucklose Papierband aus der Bibliothek der Basler Kartause enthält theologische Disputationes oder Quaestiones des Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. Aufgeschrieben wurden diese Erörterungen, die laut dem Vermerk auf Bl. 1r in Paris von und vor Heynlin gehalten wurden, von einer Vielzahl verschiedener Hände, darunter Heynlins eigener. (mue)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Papier · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Kartause Basel · um 1510
Statuten der Laienbrüder des Kartäuserordens

Um 1510 übersetzte der Basler Kartäuser Georg Carpentarius die Statuten der Laienbrüder seines Ordens vom Lateinischen ins Deutsche. Der Text wurde als Autograph des Übersetzers in der Basler Kartause überliefert. Er befand sind in der Bibliothek der Laienbrüder. (stu)

Online seit: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Papier · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · Kartause Basel · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

Der Band wurde 1489 von Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505) geschrieben. Der ursprünglich aus Füssen stammende Ambrosius wurde 1468/69 an der Basler Universität immatrikuliert und hat nachweislich zwischen 1484 und 1492 in der dortigen Kartause mehrere überwiegend liturgische Bücher geschrieben, darunter dieses Epithalamium (Braut- oder Hochzeitslied) für Maria. Möglicherweise handelt es sich um den gleichen Ambrosius Alantsee, der 1491 als Prior im Kloster St. Mang in Füssen bezeugt ist. (stu)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Pergament und Papier · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Basel · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jhs.
Sammelband (Henricus Arnoldi)

Der Sammelband aus der Kartause Basel enthält – teils handschriftlich, teils gedruckt – vorwiegend Texte devoten und spirituellen Inhaltes. Verfasser (und im ersten Teil der Handschrift auch Schreiber) ist grösstenteils Heinrich Arnoldi, Prior der Kartause von 1449-1480. (flr)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Papier · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15. Jahrhundert
Sammelhandschrift (Theologie)

Der Mischband aus dem Besitz des Basler Gelehrten und Kartäusermönchs Johannes Heynlin besteht aus verschiedenen handschriftlichen und gedruckten Teilen theologischen Inhaltes: darunter der Traktat des Dominikaners und Kirchenreformers Johannes Nider De saecularium religionibus, geschrieben 1465 von einer französischen Hand und von Heynlin am Rand mit Hinweisen versehen, oder die Schrift De miseria humanae conditionis von Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, einem der wichtigsten Humanisten der italienischen Renaissance. Nach Heynlins Tod ging der Band an die Bibliothek der Basler Kartause. (gam/flr)

Online seit: 25.06.2015

Dokumente: 103, angezeigt: 1 - 20