Documents: 40, displayed: 21 - 40

Sub-project: Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries

January 2010 - August 2010

Status: Completed

Financed by: Stavros Niarchos Foundation (www.snf.org)

Description: The project “Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries” included digitizing 40 manuscripts and the additional work necessary to publish the manuscripts on the e-codices Web site. The selection includes manuscripts from various Swiss libraries, including the Abbey Library of Saint Gall, the Abbey Library of Einsiedeln, the Library of Geneva, the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny (Geneva) and the Burgerbibliothek Bern. The project focuses on three types of materials: manuscripts containing texts from Greek antiquity in the Greek language, manuscripts containing medieval and early modern translations of Greek classics, and manuscripts containing medieval commentaries on key works of Greek antiquity.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 324(1154)
Parchment · 242 pp. · 16 x 16 cm · 10th century
Aristotelis Categoriae etc.

This is a composite manuscript containing works with philosophical and rhetorical content. At the beginning are translations by Boethius of Aristotle's Categories and the Peri Hermeneias; these are followed by a piece called De Dialectica and Cicero's Topica with In Topica Ciceronis, the commentary by Boethius. (lan)

Online Since: 08/12/2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 357(694)
Parchment · 184 pp. · 21.5 x 16 cm · 13th century
[Honorii Augustodunensis], Imago mundi

This is actually a manuscript of collected texts, since, in addition to the incomplete Imago mundi by Honorius Augustodunensis, it also contains other texts by unnamed authors such as: Nomina XI regionum, Divisio orbis terrarum, De anima, De anima humana, De origine animarum, De anima mundi, De origine animarum and ends with the Epistola Alexandri ad Aristotelem. (lan)

Online Since: 08/12/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 269
Parchment · V + 72 + V ff. · 18 x 12 cm · Italy, Naples · 1467 and 1468
Diogenes of Sinope, Brutus and Hippocrates, Letters (translated by Francesco d'Arezzo and Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

This volume is a collection of letters, made in 1467 and 1468 in Naples for Roberto da Sanseverino, Prince of Salerno, contains letters by Diogenes of Sinope, Brutus and Hippocrates, who were regarded during the middle ages as the true authors of these letters. They were translated into Latin by Francesco Griffolini Aretino and Ranuccio of Arezzo. This book was presented for sale several times during the 20th century and passed through the hands of prestigious collectors. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 76
Parchment · I + 334 + I ff. · 30.8 x 21 cm · Paris · around the end of the 13th century
Aristotle · Moses Maimonides, De uno deo benedicto

This manuscript was produced in a Parisian workshop around the end of the 13th century. It contains the Latin version of thirteen critiques written by, or generally thought to have been written by, Aristotle. The book ends with a fragment of De uno deo benedicto by Moses Maimonides. Forty decorated initials adorn the text, and a large drawing of Christ on the cross with Mary and John has been added on the last folio. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 92
Paper · I + 170 + I ff. · 30.2 x 21.8 cm · 1460-1480
Aegidius Romanus, De regimine principum; Aesop, Life, Fables

This manuscript, copied in the years 1460-1480, contains De regimine principum by Aegidius Romanus, decorated with a miniature in which the author (Aegidius Romanus) dedicates the book to the king of France. The last leaves contain the Life of Aesop and his Fables, translated into Latin by Rinuccio di Arezzo. The manuscript was owned by François Bonivard († 1570), who was prior of the Cluniac Priory of St. Victor in Geneva. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 124
Paper · 2 + 28 ff. · 24 x 16 cm · 16th century
Plutarch, De tranquillitate animi, Latin translation by Guillaume Budé

This manuscript from the 16th century contains the Latin translation of the tract entitled De tranquilitate animi by Plutarch, made by the French humanist Guillaume Budé in 1505. It is preceded by a letter from Budé to Pope Julius II, to whom the translation is addressed. The manuscript does not include illustrations, though the 16th century binding contains two scenes depicting the Virgin Mary: the Assumption of Mary and the Blessing of the Virgin Mary by the Holy Trinity. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 172
Parchment · 108 + II ff. · 21.3 x 14 cm · Italy · mid to late 15th century
Phalaris, Diogenes of Sinope, Brutus, Letters (translated by Francesco d'Arezzo and Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

This volume, which was produced in Italy in the mid to late 15th century, is a collection of letters, bringing together letters by Phalaris, Diogenes of Sinope and Brutus, who were regarded in the middle ages as the true authors of these letters. They were translated into Latin by Francesco Griffolini Aretino and Ranuccio of Arezzo. A decorative illustration in bianchi girari (entwined white vine style) is found at the beginning of the section by each author. Two fragments of De officiis ministrorum by St. Ambrose are found at the end of the volume. (jeg)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 817
Parchment · 345 pp. · 25.9 x 19.4 cm · St. Gall (only parts) · 11th century
Aristotle · Boethius · Remmius Favinus (?)

A copy of Aristotle's Categoriae (Categories) and De interpretatione (On interpretation) in Latin, followed by the respective commentaries of Boethius on each of the Aristotelian texts. Between texts and commentaries is the poem De ponderibus et mensuris by Remmius Favinus (?) concerning weights and measures. This manuscript, decorated with three unusual initials (pp. 44, 203 and 221) was written during the 11th century, likely only parts of it in St. Gall. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 821
Parchment · I + 96 + I pp. · 27.6 x 18.1 cm · St. Gall · 11th century
Boethius, Commentary on Aristotle's Categoriae; Ovid

This undecorated manuscript for practical use, containing the commentary of Boethius on Aristotle's Categories (Categoriae), was written at the Abbey of St. Gall during the 11th century. On the last three pages is the beginning of Ovid's De arte amandi. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 830
Parchment · 490 pp. · 23 x 18.5 cm · Mainz · 11th century, first half
Boethius. (pseudo?)-Boethius. Ekkehart IV

A composite manuscript intended for teaching purposes, written in Mainz during the first half of the 11th century, possibly brought to St. Gall by the monk Ekkehart IV. Ekkehart IV. taught intermittently at the cathedral school in Mainz and added a great many glosses to this manuscript. The codex gathers together a number of texts used in school teaching, for example copies of the commentary of Boethius on Aristotle's De interpretatione, Cicero's Topica, the Geometry I by (pseudo?)-Boethius as well as additional works by Boethius, such as De differentiis topicis, De divisione, De syllogismis categoricis and De syllogismis hypotheticis. At the end of the volume are two brief texts by Ekkehart IV. about the Septem Artes Liberales, (on page 488) verses in praise of Boethius and (on page 490) an allegory based on the Septem Artes Liberales in the form of instructions to a goldsmith. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 831
Parchment · 364 pp. · 25.2 x 17.5 cm · St. Gall (?) · 11th century
Boethius · Porphyrius · Walahfried Strabo, etc.

A composite manuscript from the 11th century, possibly written at the Abbey of St. Gall. The main content of the codex consists of commentaries by Boethius on Cicero's Topica and on the Isagoge by the neoplatonic philosopher Porphyrius († after 300), Porphyrius's Isagoge itself and assorted other texts. Among these are, for example, small pieces by Walahfried Strabo (Regulae metricae; a letter with the incipit Domino meo benedictus salus et vita) and by Marius Victorinus, a 4th century Roman scholar (De generatione divina). (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 833
Parchment · 30 pp. · 23.4 x 12 cm · 12th century
Commentaries on the Isagoge of Porphyrius

A copy for practical use transmitting numerous anonymous commentaries on the Isagoge of Porphyrius († after 300) as well as various philosophical works by Aristotle and Boethius, almost certainly written during the 12th century. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 836
Parchment · 209 pp. · 24 x 17 cm · 13th century
Aristotle, De natura animalium tractatus XIX

A painstakingly annoted copy of the work De natura animalium tractatus XIX by Aristotle, in the Latin version by the scholar Michael Scotus († ca. 1235), written during the 13th century, with an opening "I" initial, partly decorated in gold, showing a man sitting before a book. In 1453 this manuscript was owned by one Johannes Kalf from Wangen (in Allgäu); bound in a Kopert (limp vellum) binding. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 837
Parchment · 44 pp. · 20 x 13 cm · 13th/14th century
Isaac ben Salomon Israeli · Alkindus · Aristotle · Costa ben Luca

A 13th/14th century philosophical manuscript containing Latin versions of the Liber de definitionibus by Isaac ben Salomon Israeli († ca. 932), a Jew who lived in Egypt and Tunisia, together with the work De quinque essentiis by the Arab philosopher and mathematician Al-Kindi (Latinized as Alkindus; † 873), the Liber de causis, erroneously attributed to Aristotle, as well as the beginning of the work De differentia spiritus et animae by the Arab philosopher Qusta ibn Luqa (Latinized as Costa ben Luca; 820-912). The codex is bound in an extremely damaged Kopert (limp vellum) binding. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 839
Paper · A+179+B ff. · 22 x 16 cm · 1459
Nicolas Oresme, Commentary on Aristotle

A copy of the commentary on Aristotle by the French scientist and philosopher Nicolas Oresme († 1382) Quaestiones super libros Meteororum; according to the colophon (on f. 175v) this copy was completed in September 1459. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1103
Paper · 275 pp. · 30 x 20 cm · Paris · 1568-1569
Mauritius Enk, notes on lectures by Jacobus Valentinus on Aristotle

A study notebook used by the St. Gall monk Mauritius Enk († 1575) containing notes on lectures given by the Jesuit Jacobus Valentinus (also known as Jacobus de Borrasa; † 1581) on Aristotle's De physica, De caelo et mundo, Tractatus de elementis, De ortu et interitu and De anima, written in 1568/69 while Enk was a student at the Jesuit-run Collège de Clermont in Paris. (smu)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1117
Paper · 500 pp. · 20 x 15 cm · Paris, Jesuit College de Clermont · 1565-1569
University Lecture Notes from the Jesuit Collège de Clermont in Paris

Transcriptions, prepared by Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) of the Abbey of St. Gall and an unknown fellow student, of lectures presented by the Spanish Jesuit Johannes Maldonatus (Juan Maldonado, professor of philosophy from 1564 to 1565 and of theology from 1565 to 1569 at the College de Clermont) and Jacobus Valentinus (Jacques Valentin, professor of theology at the College de Clermont from 1565 to 1569). In addition to an introduction to theology, the lecture notes include a commentary on Aristotle by Jacques Valentin (Annotationes in libros Ethicorum) and other material. The volume has a Parisian calfskin binding bearing an owner's mark embossed in gold. (sno)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1123
Paper · 155 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · Paris, Jesuit Collège de Clermont · 1566
University Lecture Notes from the Jesuit Collège de Clermont in Paris: Jacobus Valentinus de Borrasa, S.J., Annotationes in libros Ethicorum

Lecture notes by Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) of the abbey of St. Gall from lectures by the Spanish Jesuit Jacobus Valentinus (professor of theology at the Collège de Clermont 1565-1569) on Aristotle's Ethics. (sno)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1131
Paper · 355 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · Paris, Jesuit College de Cleremont · 1566-1567
University Lecture Notes from the Jesuit College de Clermont in Paris: Jacobus Valentinus de Borrasa, S.J., In Aristotelis Organon

Transcription made by Joachim Opser († 1594, St. Galler monastic community member, Abbot beginning in 1577) of lectures presented by the Spanish Jesuit Jacobus Valentinus (professor of theology at the College de Clermont 1565-1569) on the writings of Aristotle gathered together as the Organon. (sno)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1132
Paper · 128 + 138 + 320 pp. · 22 x 16.5 cm · Paris, Jesuit College de Clermont · 1569
University Lecture Notes from the Jesuit College de Clermont in Paris

Lecture note transcriptions made, not as earlier thought, by Joachim Opser, but rather by St. Gall monastic community member Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) and by unknown fellow students. In addition to commentaries on Aristotle by the Spanish Jesuit Johannes Maldonatus (Juan Maldonado, professor of philosophy 1564-1565 and of philosophy 1565-1569 at the College de Clermont) and Jacobus Valentinus (Jaques Valentin, professor of theology at the College de Clermont 1565-1569) as well as additional lectures by the Scottish Jesuit Jacobus Tyrius (professor of theology and philosophy at the College of Clermont) and other texts about arithmetic and geometry, some of them anonymous. (sno)

Online Since: 04/15/2010

Documents: 40, displayed: 21 - 40

Dokumente: 40, angezeigt: 21 - 40

Teilprojekt: Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries

Januar 2010 - August 2010

Status: Abgeschlossen

Finanziert durch: Stavros Niarchos Foundation (www.snf.org)

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Im Rahmen des Teilprojekts „Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries“ wurden 40 Handschriften digitalisiert und auf der e-codices Website zugänglich gemacht. Die Auswahl beinhaltet Handschriften verschiedener Schweizer Bibliotheken, u.a. der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, der Stiftsbibliothek Einsiedeln, der Bibliothèque de Genève, der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny und der Burgerbibliothek Bern. Das Projekt konzentrierte sich auf drei Arten von Handschriften: Handschriften mit griechischen Texten der griechischen Antike, Handschriften mit mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Übersetzungen griechischer Klassiker und Handschriften mit mittelalterlichen Kommentaren zu Schlüsselwerken der griechischen Antike.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 324(1154)
Pergament · 242 pp. · 16 x 16 cm · 10. Jahrhundert
Aristotelis Categoriae etc.

Es handelt sich um eine Sammelhandschrift philosophischen und rhetorischen Inhalts. Am Anfang stehen die Übersetzungen von Boethius der Schriften des Aristoteles über die Kategorien und Peri Hermeneias; dann folgt eine Schrift De Dialectica, die Topica Ciceros mit dem Kommentar des Boethius. (lan)

Online seit: 12.08.2010

Preview Page
Einsiedeln, Stiftsbibliothek, Codex 357(694)
Pergament · 184 pp. · 21.5 x 16 cm · 13. Jahrhundert
[Honorii Augustodunensis], Imago mundi

Eigentlich handelt es sich um eine Sammelhandschrift; denn ausser der unvollständigen Imago mundi des Honorius Augustodunensis sind darin weitere Texte ungenannter Autoren enthalten wie: Nomina XI regionum, Divisio orbis terrarum, De anima, De anima humana, De origine animarum, De anima mundi, De origine animarum, und schliesslich die Epistola Alexandri ad Aristotelem. (lan)

Online seit: 12.08.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 269
Pergament · V + 72 + V ff. · 18 x 12 cm · Italien, Neapel · 1467 und 1468
Diogenes von Sinope, Brutus, Hippokrates, Briefe (Übersetzung von Francesco d'Arezzo und Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

Dieser Briefsammelband, der 1467 und 1468 in Neapel für Roberto da Sanseverino, den Prinzen von Salerno, geschrieben wurde, enthält Briefe von Diogenes von Sinope, Brutus und Hippokrates, die im Mittelalter als die wirklichen Verfasser dieser Briefe angesehen wurden. Sie wurden von Francesco Griffolini Aretino und Ranuccio d’Arezzo ins Lateinische übersetzt. Dieses Buch wurde im 20. Jahrhundert mehrmals zum Verkauf angeboten und von angesehenen Sammlern erworben. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 76
Pergament · I + 334 + I ff. · 30.8 x 21 cm · Paris · Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts
Aristoteles. Moses Maimonides, De uno deo benedicto

Diese Handschrift stammt aus einer Pariser Werkstatt vom Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts und enthält die lateinische Version von dreizehn Abhandlungen von Aristoteles oder solche, die ihm zugeschrieben wurden. Das Buch endet mit einem Fragment von De uno deo benedicto von Moses Maimonides. Vierzig Initialen verschönern den Text und eine grosse Zeichnung von Christus am Kreuz mit Maria und Johannes wurde auf dem letzten Folio hinzugefügt. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 92
Papier · I + 170 + I ff. · 30.2 x 21.8 cm · 1460-1480
Aegidius Romanus, De regimine principum. Äsop, Leben, Fabeln

Diese Handschrift, die in den Jahren 1460-1480 kopiert wurde, enthält De regimine principum von Aegidius Romanus, geschmückt mit einer Miniatur, in der der Autor (Aegidius Romanus) das Buch dem König von Frankreich überreicht. Die letzten Blätter enthalten das Leben Äsops und die Fabeln vom selben Autor, die von Rinuccio d'Arezzo ins Lateinische übersetzt wurden. Die Handschrift gehörte François Bonivard († 1570), Prior im Cluniazenser Priorat Saint-Victor von Genf. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 124
Papier · 2 + 28 ff. · 24 x 16 cm · 16. Jahrhundert
Plutarch, De tranquillitate animi, lateinische Übersetzung von Guillaume Budé

Abhandlung De tranquilitate animi von Plutarch in der lateinischen Übersetzung des 16. Jahrhunderts des französischen Humanisten Guillaume Budé (1505). Ihr geht ein Brief von demselben an den Papst Julius II. voran, an den die Übersetzung adressiert ist. Die Handschrift enthält keine Verzierungen, doch der Bucheinband des 16. Jhs. zeigt zwei Szenen, die der Jungfrau Maria geweiht sind: Maria Himmelfahrt und ihre Heiligsprechung durch die Dreifaltigkeit. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. lat. 172
Pergament · 108 + II ff. · 21.3 x 14 cm · Italien · Mitte oder gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts
Phalaris, Diogenes von Sinope, Brutus, Briefe (Übersetzung von Francesco d'Arezzo und Ranuccio d'Arezzo)

Dieser Band, der in Italien in der Mitte oder gegen Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts entstand, ist ein Briefsammelband, der Briefe von Phalaris, Diogenes von Sinope und Brutus zusammenträgt, die im Mittelalter als die wirklichen Verfasser dieser Briefe angesehen wurden. Sie wurden von Francesco Griffolini Aretino und Ranuccio d’Arezzo ins Lateinische übersetzt. Ornamente von „bianchi girari“ begleiten den Textanfang bei jedem dieser drei Autoren. Am Ende des Bandes erscheinen zwei Fragmente aus De officiis ministrorum vom Heiligen Ambrosius. (jeg)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 817
Pergament · 345 pp. · 25.9 x 19.4 cm · St. Gallen (teilweise) · 11. Jahrhundert
Aristoteles. Boethius. Remmius Favinus (?)

Abschrift der Kategorien (Categoriae) und der Hermeneutik (De interpretatione) des Aristoteles in lateinischer Sprache, mit den jeweils anschliessenden Kommentaren des Boethius zu den beiden Aristoteles-Werken. Dazwischen findet sich das Gedicht des Remmius Favinus (?) über die Gewichts- und Masseinheiten De ponderibus et mensuris. Die Handschrift, geschmückt mit drei aussergewöhnlichen Initialen (S. 44, 203 und 221), wurde im 11. Jahrhundert wohl nur teilweise im Kloster St. Gallen geschrieben. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 821
Pergament · I + 96 + I pp. · 27.6 x 18.1 cm · St. Gallen · 11. Jahrhundert
Boethius, Kommentar zu den Kategorien des Aristoteles; Ovid

Schmucklose Gebrauchshandschrift mit dem Kommentar des Boethius zu den Kategorien (Categoriae) des Aristoteles, geschrieben im Kloster St. Gallen im 11. Jahrhundert. Auf den letzten drei Seiten findet sich der Beginn von Ovids De arte amandi. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 830
Pergament · 490 pp. · 23 x 18.5 cm · Mainz · 11. Jahrhundert, erste Hälfte
Boethius. (Pseudo?)-Boethius. Ekkehart IV

Sammelhandschrift für den Schulunterricht, geschrieben in Mainz in der ersten Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts, wahrscheinlich vom Mönch Ekkehart IV. nach St. Gallen gebracht. Ekkehart IV. war zeitweise Lehrer an der Domschule von Mainz und brachte in dieser Handschrift eine grosse Zahl von Glossen an. Der Codex umfasst mehrere im Schulunterricht verwendete Texte, beispielsweise eine Abschrift des Kommentars des Boethius zur Hermeneutik des Aristoteles, Cicero’s Topica, die Geometrie I des (Pseudo?)-Boethius sowie weitere Werke des Boethius, etwa De differentiis topicis, De divisione, De syllogismis categoricis oder De syllogismis hypotheticis. Am Ende des Bandes finden sich zwei kurze Texte Ekkeharts IV. zu den Septem Artes Liberales, (auf Seite 488) Verse zum Lobpreis des Boethius und (auf Seite 490) eine Allegorie auf die Septem Artes Liberales in Form von Anweisungen an einen Goldschmied. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 831
Pergament · 364 pp. · 25.2 x 17.5 cm · St. Gallen (?) · 11. Jahrhundert
Boethius . Porphyrius . Walahfrid Strabo usw.

Sammelhandschrift des 11. Jahrhunderts, geschrieben wahrscheinlich im Kloster St. Gallen. Der Codex enthält vor allem Kommentare des Boethius, zu den Topica Ciceros und zu den Isagoge des neuplatonischen Philosophen Porphyrius († nach 300), die Isagoge des Porphyrius selbst und verschiedene weitere Texte. Dazu gehören beispielsweise kleine Schriften von Walahfrid Strabo (Regulae metricae; Brief mit dem Incipit Domino meo benedictus salus et vita) und vom spätantiken römischen Gelehrten Marius Victorinus (De generatione divina) (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 833
Pergament · 30 pp. · 23.4 x 12 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Kommentare zu den Isagoge des Porphyrius

Gebrauchs-Abschrift mehrerer anonym überlieferter Kommentare zu den Isagoge des Porphyrius († nach 300) sowie zu verschiedenen philosophischen Schriften des Aristoteles und des Boethius, geschrieben wohl im 12. Jahrhundert. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 836
Pergament · 209 pp. · 24 x 17 cm · 13. Jahrhundert
Aristoteles Latinus, De natura animalium tractatus XIX

Fleissig annotierte Abschrift des Werks De natura animalium tractatus XIX des Aristoteles, in der lateinischen Übertragung des Gelehrten Michael Scotus († um 1235), geschrieben im 13. Jahrhundert, mit einer Eingangs-I-Initiale teilweise in Gold mit einem vor einem Buch sitzenden Mann geschmückt. Im Jahr 1453 befand sich die Handschrift im Besitz eines Johannes Kalb aus Wangen (im Allgäu); eingebunden in einen Kopert-Einband. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 837
Pergament · 44 pp. · 20 x 13 cm · 13/14. Jahrhundert
Isaak ben Salomon Israeli. Alkindus. Aristoteles. Costa ben Luca

Philosophische Handschrift des 13./14. Jahrhunderts mit lateinischen Fassungen des Liber de definitionibus des in Ägypten und Tunesien lebenden Juden Isaak ben Salomon Israeli († um 932), des Werks De quinque essentiis des arabischen Philosophen und Mathematikers Al-Kindi (latinisiert Alkindus; † 873), des Liber de causis, irrtümlicherweise Aristoteles zugeschrieben, sowie dem Beginn des Werks De differentia spiritus et animae des arabischen Philosophen Qusta ibn Luqa (latinisiert Costa ben Luca; 820-912). Der Codex ist in einen beschädigten Kopert-Einband eingebunden. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 839
Papier · A+179+B ff. · 22 x 16 cm · 1459
Nicolas Oresme, Aristoteles-Kommentar

Abschrift des Aristoteles-Kommentars des französischen Naturwissenschaftlers und Philosophen Nicolas Oresme († 1382) Quaestiones super libros Meteororum gemäss Kolophon (auf Bl. 175v) fertig gestellt im September 1459. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1103
Papier · 275 pp. · 30 x 20 cm · Paris · 1568-1569
Mauritius Enk, Vorlesungen des Jacobus Valentinus über Aristoteles

Studienheft des St. Galler Mönchs Mauritius Enk († 1575) mit der Nachschrift der Vorlesungen des Jesuiten Jacobus Valentinus (eigentlich Jacobus de Borrasa; † 1581) über die Aristoteles-Werke De physica, De caelo et mundo, Tractatus de elementis, De ortu et interitu und De anima, geschrieben 1568/69 anlässlich von dessen Studienaufenthalt an dem von Jesuiten geführten Collège de Clermont in Paris. (smu)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1117
Papier · 500 pp. · 20 x 15 cm · Paris, Jesuitenkollegium Clermont · 1565-1569
Universitäre Lehrtexte aus dem Jesuitenkollegium Clermont in Paris

Vom St. Galler Konventualen Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) und einem unbekannten Kommilitonen angefertigte Mitschrift von Vorlesungen der spanischen Jesuiten Johannes Maldonatus (Professor der Philosophie am Collegium Clermont 1564-1565 sowie der Theologie 1565-1569) und Jacobus Valentinus (Professor der Theologie am Collegium Clermont 1565-1569). Die Vorlesungsmitschrift enthält neben einer Einführung in die Theologie u.a. einen Aristoteles-Kommentar des Jacobus Valentinus (Annotationes in libros Ethicorum). Sie ist in einen Pariser Kalbsledereinband gebunden, welcher einen Besitzvermerk in Goldprägung trägt. (sno)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1123
Papier · 155 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · Paris, Jesuitenkollegium Clermont · 1566
Universitäre Lehrtexte aus dem Jesuitenkollegium Clermont in Paris: Jacobus Valentinus de Borrasa, S.J., Annotationes in libros Ethicorum

Vom St. Galler Konventualen Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) angefertigte Mitschrift von Vorlesungen des spanischen Jesuiten Jacobus Valentinus (Professor der Theologie am Collegium Clermont 1565-1569) über die Ethik des Aristoteles. (sno)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1131
Papier · 355 ff. · 23 x 17 cm · Paris, Jesuitenkollegium Clermont · 1566-1567
Universitäre Lehrtexte aus dem Jesuitenkollegium Clermont in Paris: Jacobus Valentinus de Borrasa, S.J., In Aristotelis Organon

Von Joachim Opser († 1594, St. Galler Konventuale, Abt seit 1577) angefertigte Mitschrift von Vorlesungen des spanischen Jesuiten Jacobus Valentinus (Professor der Theologie am Collegium Clermont 1565-1569) über die unter dem Titel Organon zusammengefassten Schriften des Aristoteles. (sno)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 1132
Papier · 128 + 138 + 320 pp. · 22 x 16.5 cm · Paris, Jesuitenkollegium Clermont · 1569
Universitäre Lehrtexte aus dem Jesuitenkollegium Clermont in Paris

Nicht, wie bisher angenommen, von Joachim Opser, sondern vom St. Galler Konventualen Mauritius Enk (1538-1575) und unbekannten Kommilitonen angefertigte Vorlesungsmitschrift. Der Band enthält neben Aristoteles-Kommentaren der spanischen Jesuiten Johannes Maldonatus (Professor der Philosophie am Collegium Clermont 1564-1565 sowie der Theologie 1565-1569) und Jacobus Valentinus (Professor der Theologie am Collegium Clermont 1565-1569) sowie des schottischen Jesuiten Jacobus Tyrius (Professor der Theologie und Philosophie am Collegium Clermont) weitere, zum Teil anonyme Texte u.a. zur Arithmetik und Geometrie. (sno)

Online seit: 15.04.2010

Dokumente: 40, angezeigt: 21 - 40