Codices Electronici AG

Codices Electronici AG is a company located in Fribourg specializing in the digitization of valuable documents, especially medieval and early modern manuscripts.

It operates two digitization centers in Switzerland. The St. Gall digitization center has been located since 2005 in the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The Geneva digitization center, in operation since 2013, digitizes mainly manuscripts, incunabula, early print materials, and autograph manuscripts from western Switzerland and is located at the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny.

Codices Electronici AG has cooperated since 2005 with e-codices – Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland. It manages all contractual agreements (digitization contracts, borrowing and deposit agreements, online publication contracts, compensation agreements, and cooperative contracts with libraries and private collections) and is responsible for performing the actual work of digitization in the digitization studios especially set up for this project. It thus facilitates the digitization of valuable documents held by libraries that do not themselves own the necessary equipment and facilities.

Codices Electronici AG is not profit-oriented.

 

President of the  Governing Board: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, Fribourg

Member of the Governing Board: Prof. Dr. Ernst Tremp, St. Gallen and Fribourg

Account Auditor: Core Partner AG, Düdingen

 

Contact Address: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, chemin des Maggenberg 5, 1700 Fribourg, Switzerland

 


Urs Baumann (Photograph) in the St. Gall Digitization Center

Both digitization centers are equipped with “Graz Model” camera tables. Camera: Hasselblad H4D-50MS (50 Megapixel, multi-shot technology), Lens: HC Macro 4/120 mm-II and HC 2,8/80 mm. Flash system: Elinchrome.

 


Naomi Wenger (Photograph) in the Geneva Digitalization Center

The center at the Fondation Martin Bodmer was established in 2013 and mainly servers digitization needs in western Switzerland. Two photographers work in each of the two digitization centers. They are advised and supported by the conservators, restoration specialists and libraries at the respective hosting institutions. They also receive administrative and technical support from the e-codices Team at the University of Fribourg.

Codices Electronici AG

Die Codices Electronici AG ist eine Firma mit Sitz in Freiburg i.Ue., die sich auf die Digitalisierung von wertvollen Dokumenten, vor allem von Handschriften des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit, spezialisiert hat.

Sie betreibt zwei Digitalisierungszentren in der Schweiz. Das St. Galler Digitialisierungszentrum befindet sich seit 2005 in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, das Genfer Digitalisierungszentrum digitalisiert seit 2013 vor allem Handschriften, Inkunabeln, Frühdrucke und Autographe der Westschweiz und befindet sich in den Lokalitäten der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny.

Die Codices Electronici AG kooperiert seit 2005 mit e-codices – Virtuelle Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz und regelt alle vertraglichen Vereinbarungen (Digitalisierungsverträge, Gebrauchsleihe- und Hinterlegungsverträge, Bereitstellungsverträge, Leistungsvereinbarungen und Kooperationsverträge mit Bibliotheken und privaten Sammlungen) und übernimmt die operative Ausführung der Digitalisierung in den speziell für das Projekt eingerichteten Digitalisierungszentren. So ermöglicht sie die Digitalisierung wertvoller Dokumente von Bibliotheken und Sammlungen, die selber nicht über die erforderliche Ausrüstung verfügen.

Die Codices Electronici AG ist nicht gewinnorientiert.

 

Präsident des Verwaltungsrats: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, Freiburg i.Ue.

Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats: Prof. Dr. Ernst Tremp, St. Gallen und Freiburg i.Ue.

Rechnungsprüfung: Core Partner AG, Düdingen

 

Kontaktadresse: Prof. Dr. Christoph Flüeler, chemin des Maggenberg 5, 1700 Fribourg

 


Urs Baumann (Fotograf) im St. Galler Digitalisierungszentrum

Beide Digitalisierungszentren sind mit einem „Grazer Kameratisch“ ausgestattet. Kamera: Hasselblad H4D-50MS (50 Megapixel, multi-shot technology), Objektive: HC Macro 4/120 mm-II und HC 2,8/80 mm. Blitzsystem: Elinchrome. 

 


Naomi Wenger (Fotografin) im Genfer Digitalisierungszentrum

Das Zentrum an der Fondation Martin Bodmer besteht seit 2013 und unterstützt vor allem die Digitalisierung der Westschweiz. In beiden Digitalisierungszentren arbeiten zwei Fotografen. Sie werden von den Konservatoren, Restauratoren und Bibliotheken der jeweiligen Hosting Institution unterstützt. Administrative und technische Unterstützung erhalten sie vom e-codices Team an der Universität Freiburg.